Bhikari Team in IPL

Bhikari Team in IPL History | The Bhikhari Team in IPL

IPL is a iconic mix of cultures, talents and competition. Nonetheless, “Bhikari Team” phrase is widely popular. But, People don’t really have real knowledge about it. The ‘Bhikari’ team in IPL is for the teams which has been holding the IPL title trophy the least number of times. In this article, we will discuss about the teams who are comparatively weak in IPL or scored the lowest total in IPL.

RankTeamIPL trophies
1Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)0
2Punjab Kings (PBKS)0
3Delhi Capitals (DC)0
4Pune Warriors0
5Kochi Tuskers Kerala0
6Gujarat Lions0
7Rising Pune Supergiant0
8Rajasthan Royals  1
9Sunrisers Hyderabad1
10Deccan Chargers 1

Read more: Baap of IPL

“Bhikari Team in IPL History” meaning

The term ‘bhikhari team in IPL’ means the teams who have not won a trophy yet or hasn’t performed well. They have got the less success in the tournament so far. However, they may not be on the top of Points table of IPL but we cannot undermine their contributions.

IPL ki Bhikhari Teams

1. Kings XI Punjab (Now Punjab Kings)

A team called the Kings XI Punjab but now called Punjab Kings is always referred to as the IPL bhikari team. On the other side, if we look at their performance, we can find the competitive nature of them. Let’s take a look at the performance of KXIP in IPL so far.

SeasonPositionWin-Loss RecordHighest Finish
2010Eighth4-10League Stage
2012Sixth8-8League Stage
2013Sixth8-8League Stage
2014Eighth3-11League Stage
2015Eighth3-11League Stage
2016Eighth4-8League Stage
2017Fifth7-7League Stage
2018Seventh6-8League Stage
2019Sixth6-8League Stage
2020Sixth6-8League Stage

Read more: IPL full form

2. Delhi Capitals

Another of the teams that has received the Bhikhari Tag is Delhi Capitals. Rishabh Pant is currently leading this team. Earlier, this team was known as the Delhi Daredevils. They are not able to win a single IPL title till now. Let’s take a look at the performance of DC in IPL so far.

SeasonPositionWin-Loss RecordHighest Finish
2011Tenth4-9League Stage
2013Ninth3-13League Stage
2014Eighth2-12League Stage
2015Seventh5-8League Stage
2017Sixth6-8League Stage
2018Eighth5-9League Stage

Read more: Fastest century in IPL

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is a team full of starts. Despite this, they have not won a single IPL trophy. They are often tagged as ‘IPL bhikhari team.’ However, they have the immense support form fans and they are known as the most loyal fans of IPL. Let’s take a look at the performance of RCB in IPL so far.

SeasonPositionWin-Loss RecordHighest Finish
2008Seventh4-10League Stage
2014Seventh5-9League Stage
2016Eighth4-10League Stage
2017Eighth3-10-1League Stage
2018Sixth6-8League Stage
2019Eighth5-8-1League Stage

Bhikari team in IPL CSK

Chennai Super Kings or CSK have won 5 IPL trophies in the IPL so far. They equals the record of Mumbai Indians (MI). They have the record of reaching in the IPL final the most number of times. Despite being banned for 2 years, they have proved that they can not be considered as Bhikhari team.

There is a lot of controversy around the ‘team bhikhari in IPL’. However these bhikhari teams have performed well. They have shown the spirit, competitiveness and intensity. Their ability is nowhere to be doubted. They indeed play an important role in Indian Premier League.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

Q1: What does the Bhikari Team in IPL” mean?

A1: The term “Bhikari Team in IPL” means to a team perceived as financially weak or less competitive in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Q2: Which teams are often known to as Bhikhari Team in IPL?

A2: Teams like Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings), Delhi Capitals, and Royal Challengers Bangalore have been labeled as “Bhikari Teams” sometimes.

Q3: What does “Bhikari Team” reflect about team’s performance in IPL?

A3: The term ‘bhikhari’ is subjective and it shows the diverse and competitive nature of the IPL. Teams labeled as such have also showcased many strong performances throughout the league.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *