Fastest 50 in IPL

Fastest 50 in IPL History as of 2024

Indian Premier League is a T20 tournament which is one of the more famous and likable competitions known due to its vivid matches. One of the most remarkable things that get the IPL fans really excited is the fact of strong batting. You don’t need more than one boundary to get the theatrics working and the fans cheering like mad for their players and his success. In this article, let’s take a look at the fastest 50 in IPL.

Yashasvi Jaiswal5013
KL Rahul5114
Pat Cummins5614
Yusuf Pathan7215
Sunil Narine5415

Fastest 50 in IPL full list

Most well-known batsmen have played in IPL matches ever since its inception of 17 seasons, but very few have actually scored those massive sixes like dozens and hundreds. There were some batsmen who came in as a replacement or at the death and finished the game with match-winning hundreds. Today, our journey through the list of the fastest 50 in IPL history from 2008 to 2024 shall come to an end. Let’s take a look at the list of fastest 50 in IPL excluding Yashasvi Jaiswal.

PlayerRunsBalls Faced to reach 50AgainstVenueMatch Date6s4s
KL Rahul5114DCIS Bindra Stadium08 April 201846
Pat Cummins5614MIMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium06 April 202264
Yusuf Pathan7215SRHEden Gardens24 May 201475
Sunil Narine5415RCBM. Chinnaswamy Stadium07 May 201746
Suresh Raina8716PBKSWankhede Stadium30 May 2014612
Abhishek Sharma6316MIRajiv Gandhi International Stadium27 March 202473
Ishan Kishan8416SRHZayed Cricket Stadium08 October 2021411
Chris Gayle17517PWIM. Chinnaswamy Stadium23 April 20131713
Hardik Pandya9117KKREden Gardens28 April 201996
Kieron Pollard8717CSKArun Jaitley Stadium01 May 202186

Top 5 Fastest 50 in IPL

Yashasvi Jaiswal – 13 balls

Yashasvi Jaiswal, who is only 21 years old, set a new IPL record by slamming the league’s fastest half-century at just 13 balls. He made a track which was tricky to look like a batsman’s delight to inspire his team’s recovery from a lost game at the beginning of the IPL season. It was a shock for KKR captain Nitish Rana to opt for himself the new ball. As a result, he gave away 26 runs in the opening over to Jaiswal.

Just as Rana – Harshit – didn’t escape unpunished as Jaiswal slammed him behind point and smote him down the ground for fours with his gentle strokes. Jaiswal had more of Shardul and took a hit at his half-century facing only 3 overs. Jaiswal mentally changed it into a hundred; however, it was still not large enough. Towards the end, however, Royals took the control and hunted the last 150 needed just nine wickets and around seven overs remaining.

Pat Cummins – 14 balls

Chasing 162, KKR slipped from 83 for the loss of 4 wickets on the not so easy Pune track at 12 overs. Nevertheless, Pat Cummins made an entrance from position six and responded to the second ball thrown with a six. Straightaway in the upcoming over, Cummins hit Bumrah for a towering six and a four to keep the KKR hopes. The player then demolished Daniel Sams by sending 6,4,6,6, 2 (nb), 4,6 back to back, making the score 56 for him off 15 runs, and providing the winning shot of the match for his team.

KL Rahul – 14 balls

The record of the quickest half-century in the history of IPL was much before held at 15 balls, before the player KL Rahul smashed his way with a torrent of shots on his very first game for Kings XI Punjab. A pleasant top-edge six on Trent Boult’s over starred the show as he revealed his amazing cover drives and pulled out the first over of Mohammad Shami. At 27 off nine balls, the new fifty mark still appeared to be many balls away, until he took full advantage of Amith Mishra’s lose first over and blasted him for 24 runs to break the previous record by one ball.

Sunil Narine – 15 balls

Their initial destructive opener Chris Lynn injured his shoulder very early in the 2017 season and after this the K Knight Riders team member Sunil Narine was played as a pinch-hitting opener. He started with some good quick starts and kept his spot as an opener when Lynn returned. With 159 to win in Bengaluru, Lynn and Narine agreed that they would try to finish the game inside ten overs. Both of them were wild, but with Narine it was a blistering 50, while Lynn finished with 46. He was after his fellow countryman Samuel Badree, hitting him three sixes in a row before he smashed three more sixes off S Aravind. Narine reached the milestone of attaining the fastest half-century in IPL, when he hoisted spinner S. Aravind over the fence beyond long-on.

Yusuf Pathan – 15 balls

Yusuf Pathan’s innings came in their last league game; with this they needed to get 161 runs to achieve a higher chance of qualifying for the final. Steyn dropped him twice in the first stage of his innings. But then he gave himself one last opportunity that was nothing short of total domination since he hammered 26 runs off an over, making sure KKR chased the target in just 14.2 overs.


Who has the record of smashing the fastest 50 in IPL?

Yashasvi Jaiswal hit the fastest 50 in IPL in just 13 balls in IPL 2023.

Who has scored the fastest 50 in IPL 2023?

Yashasvi Jaiswal, player of Rajasthan Royals hit the fastest 50 in IPL in just 13 balls in IPL 2023 when he was just 21 years old.

Who has scored the fastest 50 in IPL 2021?

Ishan Kishan scored the fastest half century in IPL 2023 in just 16 balls.

KL Rahul fastest 50 in IPL came in which year?

KL Rahul’s fastest 50 in ipl came in 2018 when he scored a half century in just 14 balls.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *