IPL 2015 Final

IPL winning captains list from 2008 to 2024

Welcome to the thrilling world of the Indian Premier League (IPL), where cricket meets excitement and champions emerge. One of the defining elements of IPL’s history is the role of captains who lead their teams to victory. From Shane Warne’s tactical brilliance to Rohit Sharma’s calm demeanor, each winning captain has left an indelible mark on the tournament. Let’s embark on a journey through the IPL history to celebrate the captains who have lifted the prestigious trophy. Take a look at the IPL winning captains list in IPL history.

YearWinnersIPL winning captain
2024Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas Iyer
2023Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2022Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya
2021Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2020Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2019Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2018Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2017Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2016Sunrisers HyderabadDavid Warner
2015Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2014Kolkata Knight RidersGautam Gambhir
2013Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2012Kolkata Knight RidersGautam Gambhir
2011Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2010Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2009Deccan ChargersAdam Gilchrist
2008Rajasthan RoyalsShane Warne

Read more: Rohit Sharma IPL runs 2024

IPL winning captains list: By number of titles

Since its inception, the Mumbai Indians have emerged as a powerhouse in the IPL, largely due to the leadership of Rohit Sharma. With a record-breaking five IPL titles under his belt, Rohit Sharma’s calm and composed captaincy has guided his team to unprecedented success. From leading with the bat to making tactical decisions on the field, Rohit Sharma epitomizes the essence of leadership in cricket.

NameNo. of TitlesTeamYear
Rohit Sharma5Mumbai Indians2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
MS Dhoni4Chennai Super Kings2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Gautam Gambhir2Kolkata Knight Riders2012, 2014
Shane Warne1Rajasthan Royals2008
Adam Gilchrist1Deccan Chargers2009
David Warner1Sunrisers Hyderabad2016

Read more: Youngest Players To Debut In IPL 2024

IPL winning captains list: By Win percentage

The Chennai Super Kings, under the captaincy of the legendary MS Dhoni, have been a formidable force in the IPL. Dhoni’s shrewd cricketing acumen and unflappable demeanor have guided his team to three IPL titles, making them one of the most successful franchises in the tournament’s history. Whether it’s marshaling his troops on the field or finishing games with his trademark helicopter shot, Dhoni’s leadership has been instrumental in Chennai Super Kings’ success.

PlayerMatchesTeamsWonWin Percentage (%)
MS Dhoni204Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiants12159.6
Virat Kohli140Royal Challengers Bangalore6448.16
Gautam Gambhir129Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders7155.42
Rohit Sharma129Mumbai Indians7559.68
Adam Gilchrist74Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab3547.29
David Warner69Delhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad3552.17
Shane Warne55Rajasthan Royals3055.45
Virender Sehwag53Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab2853.77
Sachin Tendulkar51Mumbai Indians3058.82

Read more: Highest opening partnership in IPL 2024

As we celebrate the winning captains of the IPL, we are reminded of the pivotal role that leadership plays in the success of a team. From Shane Warne to Rohit Sharma, each captain has brought their unique style and vision to the fore, leaving an indelible mark on the tournament’s rich tapestry. As we eagerly await the next season of IPL, one thing is certain – the legacy of these captains will continue to inspire generations of cricketers and fans alike, reminding us of the magic that unfolds on the cricketing field.

Read more: Most sixes in IPL by team

FAQs about IPL Winning Captains list:

Who was the first captain to win the IPL title?

  • The first captain to win the IPL title was Shane Warne, leading the Rajasthan Royals to victory in the inaugural season of IPL in 2008.

Which captain has won the most IPL titles?

  • Rohit Sharma holds the record for winning the most IPL titles as a captain, with five titles leading the Mumbai Indians to glory.

How many IPL titles has MS Dhoni won as a captain?

  • MS Dhoni has led the Chennai Super Kings to victory in the IPL three times, making him one of the most successful captains in the tournament’s history.

Who led the Kolkata Knight Riders to IPL triumphs in 2012 and 2014?

  • Gautam Gambhir captained the Kolkata Knight Riders to IPL victories in 2012 and 2014, showcasing his leadership prowess on the cricketing field.

Which captain guided the Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden IPL title in 2016?

  • David Warner led the Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden IPL title in 2016, establishing himself as a successful captain in the league.

To know more about IPL matches, visit our page IPL point tables.

Read More Articles

Fastest century in IPL

Bhikari Team in IPL

IPL full form

Baap of IPL

Highest partnership in IPL

Fastest 50 in IPL 2023

highest individual score in IPL

Highest run chase in IPL

Star Utsav movies schedule IPL

Liam Livingstone IPL

Highest powerplay score in IPL

Most ducks in IPL

Longest six in the IPL

IPL Stumps price

IPL Toss

IPL best finisher 2024

Fair play award IPL

Most Expensive Player in the IPL

Most runs in IPL history in one season

Highest score in IPL history

Most man of the match in IPL

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *