ICC World Cup prize money

ICC world cup prize money: How much do winners get?

Some of the most fascinating features of the ICC World Cup apart from the adventurous matches are the ICC World Cup prize money. It also contributes to the overall event’s historic significance and to the intensity as the teams are given some money to play for. Someone who is interested in T20 betting, this prize money is a factor that they always wonder.

Now, it is time to look more in-depth into the aspects of the cash rewards linked to this prestigious competition.

World Cup Record Prize Money

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup prize money includes a historic prize pot, the highest in the history of the tournament. This record-breaking prize fund will be awarded to the winners and runners-up, emphasizing the significance of the event.

The prize money is given to the participating teams after the conduct of the tournament. This ranges from the second-placed teams, the finalists and even those teams which do well in the groups’ stage.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winning Prize

The ICC T20 World Cup featured the highest prize money of $10 million or approximately Rs 83 crore. The T20 World Cup 2024, which will be the ninth edition, is expected to continue this trend. Australia has won and will be awarded with $4 million (Rs 33 crore) while India, the runners up, will be paid $2 million (Rs 16 crore). Teams in World Cup winners list always received a big prize money.

Cricket World Cup Prize Money

South Africa and England, the two teams that were knocked out of the competition during the semi-final stage in 2023, will be paid $800,000 each as losing semi finalists.

The six other teams that failed to qualify for the second round will receive a guaranteed $100,000 each. Teams ranking between 13th and 20th place will receive varying amounts of prize money based on their final standings. There is also $40,000 in additional prize money for each match won in the group stage of the tournament.

ODI World Cup Prize Money in Indian Rupees

Now, coming to the point, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the ODI World Cup prize money in Indian Rupees, making it interesting for any Indian fan. The players reflects the event’s significance with the record prize money announced by the ICC for the 2024 T20 World Cup being $11.25 million, with the winners receiving $2.45 million. In Ind vs Aus world cup match in Final, Australia won and took the prize money their home.

This world event will entertain hundreds of millions of fans worldwide. The amount of money that is attributed to the prize money is in most cases stated in USD, but a relatively better appreciation of the actual worth is when it is translated to INR. Hence, the winning team received 33 crores while the runner-up received 16 crores, as we discussed above.


The ICC World Cup prize money is an integral part of the tournament, adding to the competitive spirit and rewarding the hard work of the teams. The prize money reflects the event’s historic nature, especially with the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup being hosted in the West Indies and USA. The tournament will be played over 28 days across nine venues, making it the biggest ICC T20 World Cup ever. Whether it’s the winning prize or the rewards for reaching various stages, the prize money motivates players and enhances the overall appeal of the World Cup.

If you want to read more about the T20 World Cup or cricket news then visit T20 World Cup Points Table.


What is the prize money for the ICC World Cup?

The amount of money in any ICC World Cup may differ for each competition, but generally speaking, it is at least $10 million USD.

How much does the winning team receive in the ICC World Cup?

The winners of the ICC World Cup cricket for any year get approximately $4 million US dollars. These numbers roughly equal 30 crores of Indian Rupees, considering the current exchange rates.

Are there any prize money for losing semi finalists in the ICC World Cup?

Definitely, teams that advance to different rounds of the ICC World Cup like the semi-finals and quarter-finals or even the groups and stages teams too are awarded with cash prizes.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *