India vs Pakistan

India vs Pakistan world cup: A look at the Indian dominance

An exciting match was played between India and Pakistan in the T20 World Cup 2024. The match between these India vs Pakistan has always been very special. These two teams have not been playing a bilateral series for the last decade. In such a situation, matches between the two teams take place only in ICC or ACC tournaments. Therefore, the fans eagerly wait for this great match.

These two teams were face to face for the eighth time in the T20 World Cup. Team India has won the match seven times, while Pakistan’s team has managed to win once. Including both ODI and T20 World Cups, the Indian team has lost to Pakistan only once. This match was played in the 2021 T20 World Cup, which Pakistan won by 10 wickets. T20 World Cup 2024 schedule has already been announced and India defeated Pakistan in a thrilling match.

Let us know what has happened in India vs pakistan world cup matches:

India vs Pakistan t20 world cup 2007

Group Stage: India beat Pakistan in bowl out

Player of the Match: Robin Uthappa

The first T20 World Cup was played in 2007. Both the teams came face to face in the 10th match of the group stage of the very first World Cup. Then Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik won the toss and decided to bowl first. India batted first and scored 141 runs for nine wickets in 20 overs thanks to Robin Uthappa’s half-century.

In response, the Pakistan team could also score only 141 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs. Misbah-ul-Haq scored the highest 53 runs. At that time there was no super over, instead ball outs were played. In which the bowlers from both the teams had to hit the wicket five times one by one. Players who were into T20 betting then earned a lot of profit.

From India’s side Virender Sehwag, Robin Uthappa and Harbhajan Singh hit the wicket and they were successful. Whereas from Pakistan’s side Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat and Shahid Afridi missed and India won the match.

Final: India became champion by defeating Pakistan by five runs

Player of the Match: Irfan Pathan

After the group stage, both the teams clashed in the final as well. India’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first. With the help of Gautam Gambhir’s 75 runs in 54 balls and Rohit Sharma’s 30* runs in 16 balls, India scored a total of 157 runs in 20 overs by losing five wickets.

In response, Pakistan’s top order batsmen were shattered. The Pakistan team could not do anything in front of Rudra Pratap Singh, Irfan Pathan and Joginder Sharma. Pakistan team had lost nine wickets for 141 runs. However, Misbah-ul-Haq was still on the crease. In the last over, Pakistan needed 13 runs to win.

Dhoni played a trick and gave the ball in the hands of Joginder Sharma. Misbah hit a six on the second ball of the over. On the third ball, he tried to hit a big shot on the fine leg, but due to low speed in the ball, the ball could not cross the boundary line and went into the hands of Sreesanth. India won this match by five runs.

India vs Pakistan world cup cricket T20 2012

Super 8: India defeated Pakistan by eight wickets

Player of the Match: Virat Kohli

After India became the world champion, Pakistan was also not going to remain silent. Pakistan team became champion in the second edition of this tournament. It did not face India in this. At the same time, both the teams did not clash in the 2010 World Cup as well. In 2012, India and Pakistan faced each other in the Super-8 round. Pakistan team batting first got all out for 128 runs.

In reply, the Indian team achieved the target in the 17th over. Virat Kohli remained not out after scoring 78 runs in 61 balls. Virender Sehwag scored 29 runs and Yuvraj Singh scored an unbeaten 19 runs. You can also check out the list of all the T20 World Cup winners list.

India vs Pakistan cricket T20 world cup 2014

Group Stage: India defeated Pakistan by seven wickets

Player of the Match: Amit Mishra

In the 2014 T-20 World Cup, India once again faced Pakistan. Batting first after losing the toss, Pakistan scored 130 runs in 20 overs. In reply, India achieved the target in 18.3 overs. Virat scored 36 runs and Suresh Raina scored 35 runs.

India vs Pakistan world cup history T20 World Cup 2016

Super 10: India defeated Pakistan by 6 wickets

Player of the Match: Virat Kohli

In 2016, both the teams clashed in the Super-10 round. Due to rain, the match was reduced to 18 overs. Batting first, Pakistan scored 118 runs. In reply, Team India lost three wickets for 23 runs. After this, Virat scored 55 not out runs in 37 balls and Yuvraj scored 24 runs in 23 balls and won the match by six wickets.

India vs Pakistan World Cup 2021

Super-12: Pakistan defeated India by 10 wickets

Player of the Match: Shaheen Afridi

In 2021, both the teams faced each other in the T20 World Cup after five years and Pakistan won for the first time against India. India, who came to bat first after losing the toss, did not have a good start and the Indian team lost three important wickets in the powerplay itself. India scored 151 runs thanks to captain Kohli’s half-century. Chasing the easy target, Pakistan’s Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan played brilliantly and returned only after giving victory to their team. Rizwan scored an unbeaten 79 and Babar scored an unbeaten 68. Pakistan won this match by 10 wickets.

India vs Pakistan t20 world cup 2022

Super-12: India beat Pakistan by four wickets

Player of the Match: Virat Kohli

India defeated Pakistan by four wickets in the Super-12 match of the T20 World Cup. Batting first in the match played in Melbourne, Pakistan scored 159 runs for eight wickets in 20 overs. In response, India won the match by scoring 160 runs for six wickets in 20 overs.

Virat Kohli was the hero of Team India’s victory. He played an unbeaten innings of 82 runs in 53 balls with the help of six fours and four sixes. During this, his strike rate was 154.72. Kohli was adjudged Player of the Match for this innings.

India vs Pakistan World Cup 2024

2024 Group Stage: India beat Pakistan by six runs

Player of the Match: Jasprit Bumrah

India defeated Pakistan by six runs in a thrilling match. Batting first, the Indian team was all out for 119 runs in 19 overs. In response, the Pakistan team looked in a very strong position. At one point in the 14th over, Pakistan’s score was 80 for three. After this the match turned. Rizwan-Shadab was out. In the 19th over, Jasprit Bumrah came to bowl and gave only three runs and took the wicket of Iftikhar. In the 20th over, Pakistan needed 18 runs to win. However, Arshdeep conceded just 11 runs and took the wicket of Imad Wasim. Indian players official jersey shined bright after the win.

In this way, Team India turned the impossible into possible. Team India’s defeat seemed certain, but the fast bowling quartet of Bumrah-Arshdeep, Siraj and Hardik won the match for India. Pakistan’s team could score 113 runs for seven wickets after 20 overs. Bumrah took three wickets for India and was adjudged the Player of the Match. At the same time, Hardik took two wickets. At the same time, Arshdeep and Akshar got one wicket each.

If you want to read more about the T20 World Cup, IPL or cricket news then visit T20 World Cup Points Table.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *