IPL 2018 Final

IPL 2018 Final – Scorecard, Match Info and Playing XI

Chennai Super Kings had a 8-wicket victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL 2018 final and earned their third Indian Premier League championship. In the VIVO IPL 2018 Final held at Wankhede Stadium, Shane Watson hit 117, which was completed as the CSK chased those 179. 

VenueWankhede Stadium, Mumbai
TossChennai Super Kings, elected to field first
SeriesIndian Premier League 2019
Player Of The MatchShane Watson
Player Of The SeriesSunil Narine
Series resultChennai Super Kings won the 2018 Indian Premier League
UmpiresMarais Erasmus
Sundaram Ravi
TV UmpireNitin Menon
Reserve UmpireYeshwant Barde
Match RefereeAndy Pycroft

IPL 2018 Final Scorecard

In the final match of IPL 2018, Chennai Super Kings won the toss and decided to bowl first. Let’s take a look at the scorecard of both the teams in this match.

Read More: Baap of IPL

Sunrisers Hyderabad Innings

Yusuf Pathan was seen in action for his team after the captain lost his wicket in the 13th over. Offering the first shot from his bat, he clenched the ball towards a boundary by performing a late cut that found a gap even in the infield. He continued batting smartly going forward only aiming at singles but not letting the bowlers go easy with any bad ball. Every time there was an opportunity to play with the width or when the ball was short-pitched, he seized it and fetched boundaries; he collected 4 fours and 2 sixes in his power-packed 30 ball knock.

BATTINGRunsBallsStrike Rate
Shreevats Goswami run out (Sharma/Dhoni)55100
Shikhar Dhawanb Jadeja2625104
Kane Williamson (c)st Dhoni b Sharma4736130.55
Shakib Al Hasanc Raina b Bravo2315153.33
Yusuf Pathannot out4525180
Deepak Hoodac sub (DR Shorey) b Ngidi3475
Carlos Brathwaitec Rayudu b Thakur2111190.9

Total: 178/6

Lungi Ngidi, with figures of 1/26, bowled well. At the beginning of the game, in only the fourth over, he was able to bowl a Maiden over to the best batsmen in the tournament – Kane Williamson. However, after that he bowled very well in the 19th over; playing with different lengths and different speeds, he conceded only two singles off the first five balls, but a mishit by Brathwaite sailed over the rope at long-on hampered the fantastic over.

Deepak Chahar42506.25
Lungi Ngidi42616.5
Shardul Thakur331110.33
Karn Sharma32518.33
Dwayne Bravo446111.5
Ravindra Jadeja224112

Chennai Super Kings Innings

The innings of the match is being played by Shane Watson. The CSK opener managed to hit the first boundary of the innings only after playing his tenth ball. However, after his swing was gone, the 36-year old started to behave differently in the field. He then made a series of gear changes, slowly but steadily caught up to the 19-ball run, reached his 50 runs off 33 balls before making an ultimate breakthrough and went on to his century 18 balls later. 

BATTINGRunsBallsStrike Rate
Shane Watsonnot out11757205.26
Faf du Plessisc & b Sandeep Sharma101190.9
Suresh Rainac Goswami b Brathwaite3224133.33
Ambati Rayudunot out161984.21

Total: 181/2

Bhuvneshwar Kumar strung three terrific overs at the beginning of the CSK game. To start with, he bowled a beautiful outswinger off the first ball to edge the batsman closer to the stumps and followed it up with all six dot balls to walk away with a maiden over bowled. The pacer maintained the pressure in his next over as well; the only runs he gave apart from the 5 runs conceded through overthrows which resulted due to an unnecessary shy at the stumps by Deepak Hooda. 

Bhuvneshwar Kumar41704.25
Sandeep Sharma452113
Siddarth Kaul343014.33
Rashid Khan42406
Shakib Al Hasan115015
Carlos Brathwaite2.327110.8

IPL 2018 Final match playing XI

Chennai Super Kings won their third IPL title by winning this match. Sunrisers Hyderabad also performed well throughout the season. Let’s take a look at those players who played for these two teams.

Read More: IPL full form

Chennai Super Kings

Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (c), Shreevats Goswami (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan,Deepak Hooda, Carlos Brathwaite, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Sandeep Sharma


1. Who scored the highest runs in the IPL 2018 Final match?

Shane Watson scored the highest runs (117 runs) in the IPL 2018 Final match

2. Who took the most wickets in the IPL 2018 Final match?

Lungi Ngidi, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Sandeep Sharma and Carlos Brathwaite took 1-1 wickets in IPL 2018 Final match.

3. Who won the IPL Final in 2018?

Chennai Super Kings won the 2018 Indian Premier League

4. Who was the player of the match in the IPL 2018 Final?

Shane Watson was the player of the match in the IPL 2018 Final.

5. Who won the player of the series in IPL 2018?

Sunil Narine won the player of the series in IPL 2018.

Read More Articles

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *